Data study
Exam Photo and Signature Size Rules in India: 23 Forms Checked
In this guide
There is no single photo or signature size that every Indian exam form accepts. We read the official notices for 23 exams and government forms on 24 October 2026. Photo maximums run from 20 KB (PAN, driving licence) to 1 MB (e-Visa), and some forms also set a minimum. Find your form in the table, then always check your own notice.
No single photo file size works for every form
Of the 21 forms that take a photo upload, the strictest maximum is 20 KB (PAN through Protean, and the driving licence on Sarathi). India Post GDS needs at least 30 KB. At the top end, the e-Visa accepts up to 1 MB and GATE 2027 up to 600 KB. That’s about a 50× spread between the smallest and largest maximum.
“Keep it under 100 KB” fails about half the forms
A 100 KB photo is outside the limit for 10 of the 21 photo-upload forms: PAN, Sarathi, IBPS PO, SBI PO, LIC AAO, CAT, Kerala PSC, UPPSC, TNPSC and MPSC. Counting only the fully verified rows, it fails 9 of 19. A 50 KB photo fits 17 of 21, and a 20 KB photo fits 20 of 21; only India Post GDS, with its 30 KB minimum, rejects it.
One exam agency, two signature ranges
NTA’s five bulletins in this set all ask for a 10–200 KB photo, but the signature range differs: 10–100 KB for NEET UG and JEE Main 2026, and 10–50 KB for CUET UG 2026, UGC-NET December 2026 and CSIR-NET December 2025. A signature that’s fine for NEET, say 80 KB, is too big for CUET and both NETs.
More from the data
- Live photos are spreading. 9 of the 23 forms involve a live camera photo. SSC CGL 2026 and BPSC replace the upload entirely; UPSC, NEET, JEE Main, CUET, UGC-NET, IBPS PO and SBI PO ask for an upload plus a live photo.
- Bank-exam forms ask for four images, not two. IBPS PO, SBI PO and LIC AAO (2025 cycle) add a 240 × 240 px left-thumb impression (20–50 KB) and an 800 × 400 px handwritten declaration (50–100 KB).
- Few forms fix an exact pixel size: Passport Seva (exactly 630 × 810 px, for applications from abroad) and Kerala PSC (150 × 200 px). TNPSC gives pixel equivalents for its centimetre sizes. Most others say “preferred”, give a range, or give centimetres only; the five NTA bulletins give no pixel size at all.
- Signature limits: minimums run from 3 KB (GATE 2027, CTET) to 20 KB (UPSC, India Post GDS); maximums from 10 KB (PAN) to 300 KB (GATE 2027).
Passport photos: who has to upload one
The 630 × 810 px rule is for passport applications that ask you to upload a photo, mainly applications from abroad through Global Passport Seva. Each date below comes from its own source:
- MEA’s ICAO photo guidelines (August 2025): colour, 630 × 810 pixels, white background, face 80–85% of the photo.
- Passport Seva photo upload instructions (28 June 2026): exactly 630 × 810 pixels and under 250 KB; signature under 100 KB.
- Global Passport Seva upload page: a banner says ICAO-compliant photographs are required from 1 September 2025.
- Embassy of India, Doha advisory: uploading an ICAO-compliant photo is mandatory at the applicant’s level from 1 December 2025.
- Passport Seva instruction booklet (updated 23 June 2026): a photograph is not required for applications submitted at a Passport Seva Kendra (PSK) or Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK); the photo is taken there.
The table
Tap a column name to sort. Sizes are as published, and “preferred” sizes are recommendations in the notice, not hard rules. Rows marked † are partial: one value or the page that links the document still needs a second look. Limits are as printed. Stay a few KB inside the maximum, because portals may count 1 KB as 1,000 bytes.
| Other uploads | Source | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indian passport, applications from abroad via Global Passport Seva (GPSP 2.0), or wherever the portal asks for a photo upload †ICAO photo guidelines (mportal, Aug 2025) + Passport Seva photo/signature upload instructions (28 Jun 2026 version) | under 250 KBexactly 630 x 810 px; face 80-85% of photo; white background | under 100 KBrectangular crop, not the whole page | – | Source Source 2 ScopeDocument date: 2025-08 (ICAO PDF); 2026-06-28 (upload instructions); 2026-06-23 (domestic booklet) NotesScope: mportal.passportindia.gov.in is Global Passport Seva, used by missions abroad; mission notices say ICAO photo upload is "mandatory at applicant's level w.e.f. 01 December 2025" (Embassy Doha PDF), and the overseas portal (mportal UploadPhoto page) banner says "From September 1, 2025, ICAO compliant photographs will be required for submitting passport applications" (applies to applications from abroad; it differs from the embassy notice's 1 Dec 2025). The domestic instruction booklet (updated 23 Jun 2026) says "Photograph is NOT REQUIRED for applications submitted at Passport Seva Kendra (PSK), Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK)"; PSKs take the photo. 630x810 and white background from the mportal ICAO PDF; "exactly 630 x 810 pixels and less than 250 KB" and signature "under 100 KB" from the Jun 2026 upload-instructions PDF on ctfassets.net. Partial: the official page that links the instruction PDF is not confirmed. |
| Indian e-Visae-Visa page, document requirements | 10 KB–1 MBsquare (height = width); plain light or white background | – | passport bio page PDF 10-300 KB | SourceDocument date: undated web pageNotesNo pixel size stated on the e-Visa page. |
| PAN card, new application (Form 49A, scanned upload)Guidelines for filling PAN new application | up to 20 KB2.5 cm wide x 3.5 cm high (Protean writes "3.5X2.5 cms"; axis not stated) | up to 10 KBas written "2X4.5 cms" (axis not stated; likely 4.5 cm wide x 2 cm high) | supporting documents PDF/A or JPEG, Black & White, max 300 KB per page | SourceDocument date: undated web pageNotesUTIITSL (the other PAN agency) has different specs; not collected. |
| Driving licence / learner licence (Sarathi)Photo and Signature Scan & Upload Process | 10–20 KB420 x 525 px preferred (35 x 45 mm); scan ~300 DPI | 10–20 KB256 x 64 px | – | SourceDocument date: 2014-10 (old document)Notes2014 central guideline (PDF created Oct 2014), still linked from Sarathi. States can run their own Sarathi variations. The PDF has a typo in its cm size. |
| UPSC exams (Civil Services and others via the common application form)Instructions for photo and signature upload (upsconline.nic.in) | 20–200 KBface about 75% of image, white background, both ears visiblePlus a live photo at the form | 20–100 KB350-500 px (axis not stated); three signatures one below the other in one image | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-02NotesLive photo must match the uploaded photo. |
| NEET (UG) 2026Information Bulletin NEET (UG)-2026 | 10–200 KB80% face incl. ears, white backgroundPlus a live photo at the form | 10–100 KBnot stated | left and right hand fingers and thumb impressions 10-200 KB | SourceDocument date: 2026-02-23 |
| JEE (Main) 2026Information Bulletin JEE (Main) 2026 | 10–200 KB80% face incl. ears, white backgroundPlus a live photo at the form | 10–100 KBnot stated | – | SourceDocument date: 2025-10-31NotesAn appendix screen in the same bulletin may show different ranges; not confirmed. |
| CUET (UG) 2026CUET(UG) 2026 Information Bulletin | 10–200 KB80% face incl. ears, white backgroundPlus a live photo at the form | 10–50 KBnot stated | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-01-03 |
| UGC-NET December 2026Information Bulletin UGC-NET December 2026 | 10–200 KB80% face incl. ears, white background; colour or B&WPlus a live photo at the form | 10–50 KBnot stated | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-10-16 |
| CSIR-UGC NET December 2025Information Bulletin Joint CSIR-UGC NET December 2025 | 10–200 KB80% face (without mask) incl. ears, white background | 10–50 KBnot stated | result awaited attestation form PDF 50-300 KB; category certificate PDF 50-300 KB; PwD/PwBD certificate PDF 50-300 KB | SourceDocument date: 2025-09/2025-10 (Dec 2025 bulletin, two versions)NotesValues from the December 2025 bulletin (two versions, same values). No live-photo step in the bulletin. Previous cycle; the next CSIR bulletin may differ. |
| SSC CGL 2026Notice of CGL Examination 2026 (dated 21-05-2026) | Live camera photo only | 10–20 KBabout 6.0 x 2.0 cm (Annexure-IV, p.70, says about 4.0 x 2.0 cm) | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-05-21NotesPhotographing an existing photo leads to rejection; Aadhaar-authenticated applications are exempt from that rejection. The notice contradicts itself on signature width: §9.6 and p.51 say 6.0 cm, Annexure-IV p.70 says 4.0 cm. |
| IBPS PO/MT (CRP PO/MT-XVI)Detailed Notification CRP PO/MT-XVI, 30.06.2026 | 20–50 KB200 x 230 px preferredPlus a live photo at the form | 10–20 KB140 x 60 px preferred | left thumb 240 x 240 px at 200 DPI, 20-50 KB; handwritten declaration 800 x 400 px at 200 DPI, 50-100 KB | SourceDocument date: 2026-06-30NotesCandidates "will also be required to capture and upload their live photograph either by using webcam or mobile phone". |
| SBI PO 2026-27Detailed advertisement CRPD/PO/2026-27/09, 18.06.2026 | 20–50 KB200 x 230 px preferredPlus a live photo at the form | 10–20 KB140 x 60 px preferred | left thumb 240 x 240 px (3 x 3 cm) at 200 DPI, 20-50 KB; handwritten declaration 800 x 400 px (10 x 5 cm) at 200 DPI, 50-100 KB | SourceDocument date: 2026-06-18NotesCandidates must "capture and upload their live photograph through webcam or mobile phone". |
| LIC AAO (Generalist) 32nd batch, 2025AAO Generalist notification 2025 | 20–50 KB200 x 230 px preferred | 10–20 KB140 x 60 px preferred | left thumb 240 x 240 px at 200 DPI, 20-50 KB; declaration 800 x 400 px at 200 DPI, 50-100 KB | SourceDocument date: 2025-08-16 (closed 2025 cycle)Notes2025 cycle (closed): 32nd batch notified 16.08.2025, applications closed 08.09.2025. No live photo at application; photo and IRIS captured at the venue. |
| GATE 2027GATE 2027 Photograph & Signature page | 5–600 KB200 x 260 to 530 x 690 px; aspect ratio 0.66-0.89; face 60-70%; 3.5 x 4.5 cm | 3–300 KB250 x 80 to 580 x 180 px; height:width 1:2.75 to 1:3.75 | – | SourceDocument date: undated web pageNotesRegistration closed 5 Oct 2026 (per TOI); rules still useful for the data. |
| CAT 2026CAT 2026 Registration Guide | up to 80 KBwithin 1200 x 1200 px; minimum 150 px/inch; white background | up to 80 KBwithin 80 x 35 mm | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-07 |
| CTET September 2026CTET Sept 2026 Information Bulletin | 10–100 KB3.5 x 4.5 cm | 3–30 KB3.5 x 1.5 cm | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-05-11 |
| India Post GDS online engagement, Schedule-II July 2026GDS descriptive notification + Annexure-II | 30–100 KB320 x 400 px recommended (4:5); 72-150 DPI | 20–100 KB300 x 120 px recommended (5:2); 72-150 DPI | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-08-27 |
| Kerala PSC (Thulasi one-time registration) †Photo upload instructions (Malayalam) | up to 30 KBexactly 150 x 200 px (width x height); name and date of photo mandatory | up to 30 KB150 x 100 px per OTR instructions (the Thulasi portal FAQ says 150 x 200 px) | – | Source Source 2 Source 3Document date: 2015 (photo PDF); 2020-10 (OTR signature PDF) NotesPhoto spec from the 2015 Malayalam PDF (only 150 x 200 px images are uploaded; photo valid for 10 years). Signature 150 x 100 px, max 30 KB from the Oct 2020 OTR instructions; the Thulasi FAQ says "150 x 200 pixels, with a maximum size of 30 Kb", probably a copy of the photo line. Partial: the live Thulasi upload screen is not confirmed, so the signature dimensions are kept out of findings. |
| UPPSC one-time registrationGuidelines for scanning photograph with signature (OTR) | under 50 KB5 cm wide x 6 cm high | under 30 KB6 cm wide x 3 cm high | – | SourceDocument date: 2022-10 (old document)Notes2022 document (PDF dated Oct 2022). Source writes "kb". |
| TNPSC Group I (Notification 05/2026)Notification No. 05/2026, 23.06.2026 | 20–50 KB3.5 x 4.5 cm (130 x 170 px) incl. a 1.5 cm (55 px) strip with name and date of photography | 10–20 KBbox 6.0 x 2.0 cm (230 x 75 px) | – | SourceDocument date: 2026-06-23NotesPhoto must be studio-taken; selfies and phone photos are disallowed per the notice. |
| MPSC online applicationInstructions for filling the application form | up to 50 KB3.5 x 4.5 cm; solid background, preferably blue, green or red | up to 50 KB3.5 x 1.5 cm | – | SourceDocument date: 2021-05 (old document)Notes2021 document (PDF dated May 2021). Only form in the set that prefers a coloured (not white) background. |
| BPSC online profile †BPSC user manual (profile creation) | Live camera photo only | under 20 KBwidth 150-220 px, height 250-320 px (as written in the manual) | – | SourceDocument date: 2025-04NotesA third-party site says the detailed application instructions give 220 x 100 px, max 15 KB instead; not confirmed. The manual's height > width for a signature looks unusual; treat as stated, not corrected. Signature size unconfirmed: kept out of findings. |
Fix your photo in your browser
- Compress image to 20 KB for signatures and the strictest photo limits.
- Compress image to 50 KB for most bank and state PSC photos.
- Image resizer to set exact pixels, like 200 × 230 or 140 × 60, before you compress.
- Passport size photo maker to crop to 35 × 45 mm or a PAN size on a white background.
All four run in your browser, so your photo isn’t uploaded, and they count 1 KB as 1,000 bytes so the result stays inside the limit either way.
Questions people ask
- Is there one photo size that works for every exam form?
- No. Of the 21 forms we checked that take a photo upload, PAN (Protean) and Sarathi cap the photo at 20 KB, while India Post GDS needs at least 30 KB. Always use the size in your own notice.
- Is a 100 KB photo safe for most forms?
- No. A 100 KB photo is over the limit for 10 of the 21 photo-upload forms we checked, including IBPS PO, SBI PO, CAT and four state PSCs. A 50 KB photo fits 17 of 21, and a 20 KB photo fits 20 of 21.
- What signature size do bank exams ask for?
- IBPS PO, SBI PO and LIC AAO (2025 cycle) ask for a 10–20 KB signature, preferably 140 × 60 px. They also ask for a 240 × 240 px left-thumb impression (20–50 KB) and an 800 × 400 px handwritten declaration (50–100 KB).
- Does SSC CGL 2026 need a photo upload?
- No. The SSC CGL 2026 notice says the photo is captured live by the application module. The signature is still uploaded as a 10–20 KB JPG of about 6.0 × 2.0 cm (Annexure-IV of the same notice says 4.0 × 2.0 cm).
- Does 1 KB mean 1,000 or 1,024 bytes on these forms?
- None of the 23 sources says. Limits are as printed, so stay a few KB inside the maximum, because portals may count 1 KB as 1,000 bytes.
- Where do these numbers come from?
- Every row links to the official notice, bulletin or instruction page, read on 24 October 2026, and shows the document’s own date. Rules change with each cycle, so check the notice for your own application.
Need a photo under 20 KB or 50 KB?
Drop your photo or signature and get a JPG under the limit, with the size and pixel dimensions shown before you download.
Open the 20 KB compressorFree, no sign-up, nothing uploaded.
Written by Sourav Mahapatra, who builds BeginThings: free browser tools and BeginRooms, a 3D workspace you can walk through. Take the 30-second tour or start a free 11-day trial, no card needed.